Month: August 2012

  • According to a Merriam-Webster dictionary, one of the meanings of life is “the quality that distinguishes a vital and functional being from a dead body.” Therefore, life is what distinguishes a vital and functional being. What is that in your existence? While you are here on earth, what are you doing to maximize your vitality and functionality? Are you living an extraordinary and powerful life? If there is one thing I know about life, it is that you cannot get out of it alive. Everybody knows their birthday, but nobody knows their death day.

    Today, I learned about two young women dying today. Kathryn Anne Samson, aged 26, was the cousin of one of my fraternity brothers. Joyce de Guzman-de Asis, aged 25, was a friend of acquaintances at UC Davis, and is survived by two children. While I did not know either of these women, I saw their photos and read what others are writing about them and they seem to have lived life with vitality. I hope you are doing the same.

    If you would, please think a kind thought, send a good vibe, or say a sincere prayer for their families and friends.